About the Embassy of Japan in Trinidad and Tobago


Greetings from Ambassador Tatsuo Hirayama - Ambassador of Japan to the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

Ambassador Tatsuo Hirayama

Welcome to the website of the Embassy of Japan in Trinidad and Tobago!

My name is Tatsuo Hirayama, and I assumed the post of the Ambassador of Japan to the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago on January 16, 2019. My previous posting was Consul General of Japan in Perth, Australia.

Trinidad and Tobago is a beautiful island nation in the Caribbean. While this country is famous for its carnival, its development has been on its abundant oil and natural gas resources. Japan established diplomatic relations with Trinidad and Tobago in 1964, and this year marks the 55th anniversary.

The Embassy covers 8 more neighboring countries, as well as regional organizations, including the Caribbean Community (CARICOM).

PM Shinzo AbeIn 2014, Prime Minister Shinzo Abe visited Trinidad and Tobago and held meetings with leaders of the CARICOM member countries. The visit by Prime Minister Abe substantially developed Japan’s relationship with CARICOM, which includes Trinidad and Tobago.

The bilateral relationship between Japan and Trinidad and Tobago has been excellent, and a large scale investment by Japanese companies is ongoing. In the area of people-to-people exchange, the Japan Exchange Teahing(JET) program is an excellent example through which a number of Trinidad and Tobago citizens are now residing in Japan. Furthermore, scholarship students are studying in Japan and student exchanges are taking place between tertiary institutions.

We are committed to doing our utmost to further enhance our superb relations in many areas. I humbly ask for your kind support and cooperation to do so.


His Excellency Tatsuo Hirayama

Ambassador of Japan to the Republic Trinidad and Tobago


Our Mission

The Government of Japan established diplomatic relations with the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago in 1964, just two years after the twin isles had attained their Independence on August 31, 1962.

The years that passed saw the growth of cordial relations between the two countries, during which time the Japanese Government also established diplomatic ties with eight other Caribbean countries. In order to solidify its relations with these gems of the Caribbean Sea, the Embassy of Japan was officially founded in 1979 in Port of Spain, Trinidad.

As a result, in addition to serving the needs of Japan and Trinidad and Tobago, the Embassy in Port of Spain is concurrently accredited to the islands of Antigua and Barbuda, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, St. Christopher and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Suriname.

Antigua and Barbuda
the Commonwealth of Dominica
Saint Christopher and Nevis ( St. Christopher and Nevis, St. Kitts and Nevis)
Saint Lucia (St. Lucia)
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines ( St. Vincent and the Grenadines ) 
Trinidad and Tobago

From its base in the capital city of Tokyo, the Japanese Government has been able to cultivate close relationships with the various countries, thus accomplishing its objectives to (i) strengthen the ties of friendship and mutual understanding through co-operation in matters of bilateral interest, and in issues of regional and international importance, (ii) promote cultural and educational awareness, and (iii) assist with the interests of both Japanese nationals and the citizens of the respective island states.


Embassy Information

1. Address & Map
5 Hayes Street, St. Clair,
Port of Spain,
Trinidad and Tobago,
W.I.(P.O.Box 1039)

2. TEL & FAX
TEL : 1 (868) 628 - 5991
FAX : 1 (868) 622 - 0858

* Extension Number:
Consular Matters (Visa etc.) : 214 (English)
Public Relations/Cultural Matters
(JET Programme, MEXT Scholarship, etc.) : 227 (English)
Operator: 0 (English)

3. Email Addresses
(1) Grassroots Projects
(2) Public Relations and Culture Section
(3) Consular
(4) Economic and Business related
(5) Economic Cooperation
(6) General Enquiries / E-mail : embassyofjapan@po.mofa.go.jp

4. Office Hours
Monday to Friday
08:30 AM - 12:00 AM
13:00 PM - 16:30 PM
(Closed on Saturday/Sunday)

5. Consular Hours
Monday - Friday 
08:30 AM - 11:30 AM
13:00 PM - 15:30 PM
(Closed on Saturday/Sunday)

6. Embassy Holidays
Please click here for the Embassy holidays in 2020.